Every Pebble

May 22, 2010 § Leave a comment

Every pebble dreams of itself

Every leaf has a scheme

The sun is by desire bound

 to travel down a beam
 Defeated still I cannot yeild my heart to blessed peace
 because I dream that there are chains
 I dream there is release.
 I dreamed my body yesternight
 I dreamed the universe
 I dreamed I dreamed a thousand years
 in order to rehearse
 the seven days of wonderment
 when, drawn from the mist
 I was clothed in nakedness
 and suffered to exist
 O child this is your human dream
 this is your human sleep
 and do not strive so hard to climb
 from what is sound and deep
 I love the dream that you’ve begun
 beneath my evergreen
 I love the pebble and the sun
 and all that’s in between
L. Cohen, 1978
Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Every Pebble at Safran Films.

meta

