Revelation from Within Part II

November 5, 2010 § Leave a comment

After the revolution comes the revelation from within

 
 
 
 

Over the last year I have been thinking about writing some personal reflections on the theory of divine emanation (can’t believe I can still remember this from my undergraduate days). I wonder if anyone has ever drawn parallels between divine emanation as a creation theory and the experience of divine emanation as something that flows out of a fully realised self… (i.e. that god can “overflow” through a person in much the same way that he did when creating the world).  Anyway, more on the details of this later…  I will need to read up on my medieval Jewish and Islamic philosophy, which I plan to do shortly…

 I’ve just returned from Byron Katie’s 9-day school for the work, in keeping with my exploration of the “Revelation from Within”.   I’ve already passed through the “Revolution” stage, which ended up in a pretty tumultuous winter last year. 

Byron Katie teaches a revolutionary method for questioning our negative thinking. It’s our thoughts, she says, not reality, that cause all the suffering in the world, all the war and conflict on the planet. Our inner violence – our inner pollution- is the cause of all the pollution that we experience in the outer world.   If we deal with these thoughts through inquiry, then what’s left?   What is a mind without negative, stressful thoughts?  Is it not a mind living in direct connection to the “source”, to our authentic self, to God itself?  

So I return to the Medieval theory of divine emanation, that God “overflowed” and this resulted in the creation of the world.   When we have inquired and released ourselves of our negative thoughts, one by one, there is nothing left but an overflow of true Life  – our authentic self – to come through.

I  want to share  a few quotes from Life After God, written by Douglas Coupland, my favourite Canadian writer.  These quotes sum up for me my experience prior to coming to these new understandings. These quotes really resonated with me just a few moths ago, and it’s exquisitely beautiful writing: 

“Once people are broken in certain ways they can’t ever be fixed, and this is something no one ever tells you when you are young and it never fails to surprise you as you grow older as you see the people in your life break one by one.  You wonder when your turn is going to be, or if it’s already happened.”

~

“How is it that our lives are being drained of the possibiltiy of forgiveness and kindness – so drained that even one small act of mercy becomes a potent lifelong memory?”

~

“A face for people like me who were pushed to the edge of loneliness and who maybe fell off and who, when we climbed back on, our world never looked the same.” 

Peace.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Revelation from Within Part II at Safran Films.

meta

