Darkness

September 12, 2012 § Leave a comment

 

A cougar was spotted on the island this summer

Sunning himself on Malaview Drive

When I came home from work at night

I held my flashlight tight and turned in the darkness

Looking for that pair of yellow eyes

That might be lurking

inside the tall grass

It’s early fall now

Tonight we lit the woodstove

The air was smoky and deep

In the darkness

I stumbled over the apples that had fallen into the grass

I thought

I’m not afraid of the darkness anymore

And last night I forgot to lock my door

Oh darkness

How will I feel about you in the winter?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Darkness at Safran Films.

meta

