“I always thought it would happen to you.”

October 6, 2012 § Leave a comment

Safran Films

I was pumping gas at the co-op a couple days ago when an old friend named Steve drove up beside me in his big rusty black truck.  Steve’s had dreads for as long as I can remember and lives on a dreamy old white fishing boat in the Burgoyne harbour with his dog.  He, like everyone these days, asked me what I’m up to.   I fumbled for an explanation as I often do: “I’ve got cheap rent, I’m developing new projects…”  

Steve took this as exciting news.  “You a starving artist now or something?” he asked. 

“You know, I never thought this would happen to me, and then it did.” 

“I always thought it would happen to you.” 

“Thanks. I guess I’ll take that as a compliment.”

“You should.”

The truth is that I grew up with artists, and I’ve been surrounded by them, admired them, felt intimidated…

View original post 573 more words

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading “I always thought it would happen to you.” at Safran Films.

meta

